DONE


DISCLAIMER! This entry is going to be a tad longer than others due to my absence. Sorry Chris!

Ever single time I sit down to write a blog, the same thought keeps crossing my mind: “Wow, the weeks are going by way too fast.” This is definitely true! I have had the same routine for awhile now: wake up, work, home, dinner, shower, sleep, repeat. It may sound dull, but it’s the truth. Working a “9-to-5” (or whatever hours it may be) like an adult is probably the most exhausting thing I have ever had to do. The weather has became absolutely GORGEOUS in comparison to the extension of winter we had.

This experience was without a doubt the craziest, weirdest, strangest, most exciting time of my life. I had the opportunity to work with, live with, and become friends with people I would have never met otherwise.

For those who didn’t read from the beginning, I was an intern with the United States Secret Service and I will miss it every single day! I worked with all the departments and had the opportunity to see the “other side” of what happens in the federal government. I am grateful for interning in the USSS, as I would have never really had an understanding of the behind-the-scenes work. Administrative work definitely isn’t taught in textbooks.

I had the greatest time at my internship. I had the time of my life, as corny as that may seem. USSS was great to me. I worked with and learned from some of the most compassionate, funny, and smart people I have ever met. I am grateful that I was able to have such a fun semester. My final bit of advice about this semester that I can offer is enjoy every single day, work as hard as possible, and meet as many people as time allows. You never know where life’s crazy journey is going to take you, especially down in DC, but rest assured, the ride is worth it.

This week was probably one of my best yet!! At work, we got to tour the Secret Service Rowley Training Center. Read that again. SECRET SERVICE ROWLEY TRAINING CENTER.  It was without a doubt one of the coolest places I have ever been to. So many big names have been there, celebrities touring for background on movies, movies being SHOT there, famous agents, etc! We also got to see the famous Hogan’s Alley — which is basically a “fake town” that the agents in training simulate and role play different scenarios in: entering houses, doing traffic pull-overs, going into hotels, etc. All in all I was really thrilled to be able to go see such a well-known facility and appreciated the opportunity. It didn’t hurt that I scored myself some USSS swag…

My class that I took was Managing the American Intelligence community with Dr. Holstine. It was a great class to take because extremely interesting! I learned all about leadership theories, types of personalities, working across generations, and more. I was able to develop better study habits to bring back in the fall for my senior year. I managed to actively participate in class every single week, and was able to interact with other people who I might have never talked to in the first place.

I was able to develop and perfect leadership skills that I had not previously possessed. My class was a direct link into my development of said skills. I was able to to observe leaders in the news and compared their application of leadership to the factual knowledge that I was picking up from the classroom. I believe that I was successful in using the class to become a leader myself. I have developed more confidence as a result of the class in one semester, more than I have ever before in my life. I am certain that I will be able to take the leadership skills with me across other facets as I prepare to enter my last year of college.

I grew as an individual more in this semester than I have during any other experience so far in my life. I became far more assertive, productive, and positive seemingly overnight. By keeping myself motivated throughout the day, I was able to cut back on somewhat bad habits that I had, and this stemmed from my academic and leadership pursuits. Keeping positive throughout the day and being productive are two ways I was able to keep myself motivated to wake up every day and do work throughout the semester.

I had the greatest time at my internship. I had the time of my life, as corny as that may seem. USSS was great to me. I worked with and learned from some of the most compassionate, funny, and smart people I have ever met. I am grateful that I was able to have such a fun semester. My final bit of advice about this semester that I can offer is enjoy every single day, work as hard as possible, and meet as many people as time allows. You never know where life’s crazy journey is going to take you, especially down in DC, but rest assured, the ride is worth it.

Definitely the greatest experience I have ever had in my life thus far!

Categories: Washington DC 2011 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

