An Amazing Start to an Amazing Experience!


Greetings from DC!!! Hope everyone is doing well and is good health as this bitter cold continues to slam our area. As most of you already know, I moved down to DC for the semester for an internship and pursuing a hands-on experience to the classroom academics that I have been enrolled in for the past three years. So some may ask, “what is one of the key lessons learned from the first week of being in DC, and my answer is Time Management. Truthfully, the workload can be demanding. I have been reading a lot of material, the first week I was given three books and different manuals to read. My aim is to do as much as I can, and give a good first impression to my supervisor, professor, and program advisor. I see only good opportunities so far, and it will be up to me to see them when they arise and act upon them. But while there is a lot of work, there is also time for fun.

Living at RAF-Residential Academic Facility

The suites at RAF are really nice. They are hooked up with a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, two bathrooms, kitchen appliances — the works. My suitemates come from very different backgrounds. There’s Mike from Massachusetts, is here at TWC in the Political Leadership program interning at a Nonprofit Organization here in DC. Then there is Ryan, an undergrad from Reading, Pennsylvania, who is studying Criminal Justice, and he is interning at the US Marshalls’ Office.

The Weekend

I am so fortunate to have a great support group here in DC. Mark Doss, a close friend of mine lives 5 blocks away from me, while my other close friend George Phillips lives about 20 minutes away from me. I was also fortunate to have friends from NJ coming down to DC for the weekend- Lydia, Mary, Slyvanna, and Nermine. In that same group, I met a fellow intern named Hebba who is interning with Amnesty International.

On Friday, George and I went to St. Mary Coptic Orthodox Church in Savage, Maryland. I absolutely fell in love with the church, its priests, and its congregation! They greeted me with open arms, and love. Its incredible that I think I can consider that I found a loving congregation, much like an extended family, and a powerful leadership team that takes a deep interest in you and continually pushes you to grow in your relationship with Christ.

On Saturday, I started the day off with fun and games downstairs on the P1 level of my building. TWC Student Life hosted the “Spring Fling” which was a function to help neighbors meet neighbors, and become familiar with everyone as a whole. Entered a couple of raffles (hopefully I win some Washington Capitals tickets), and had a good time overall. Later that day, I met up with the group from NJ and went to the Air and Space museum, but in Lydia’s book its called the “Aerospace Museum.” Lol spent sometime there and made our final stop in Georgetown. Georgetown is known for its “richness in history and culture, great food, music, and GEORGETOWN CUPCAKES!  As much as I was soooo excited to order them, I found them to be a bit overrated. Lol (sorry Mary) we had dinner in Chipotle, ate our cupcakes, had some coffee in Starbucks, and ended the night. We had a great time.

Last but not least, Sunday! One of God’s commandments is Honor the Sabbath Day, so Mark Doss, Monica (a friend of his from Georgetown Law), and I went to St. Mark’s Coptic Church in Fairfax, VA. Attended Sunday services, spent some more time with the NJ group over there, and I headed back to my apartment to watch the despicable two football games of the day with my roommate. Wanted the bears to win, and they failed… Wanted the Jets to win, but they also failed. After the games, I cooked, did my laundry, and got everything for the first day of my internship!

The Internship

Today January 24, 2011, I started working as an intern at United States Secret Service Washington Field Office. When I first walked into my internship building, I have to admit that it was a bit intimidating. After passing by security guards. Everyone there was in business suits, pacing around with that aura of seriousness reminiscent of Wall Street businessmen in New York. Fortunately, all nervousness quickly subsided. After meeting my internship coordinator, getting a tour of the workplace, and meeting some of the other interns, I actually found the atmosphere of the place to be receptive and stimulating.

My job? I obviously can’t say too much about it because of security reasons, but the one thing I can say is that ITS AMAZING! I love the fact that I wake up in the morning not knowing what I am doing that day. Regardless of the pressures of the office, being in the environment I am in is such a blessing. I have the ability to connect with people that I would never think I would be able to connect to and make relationships that I thought would never happen for as long as I live.

 

 

Categories: Washington DC 2011 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

